Pre-Deposit Plan (Preferred Strategy)

Ended on the 30 November 2022
For instructions on how to use the system and make comments, please see our help guide.

6 Sustainable Settlement Hierarchy

6.1 A fundamental role of the 2RLDP is to consider the need for growth and development and make appropriate provision for this growth. The 2RLDP should put forward a clear Spatial Strategy identifying where this growth should be located. An assessment of Caerphilly County Borough's settlements has been used to inform and generate options for the location of future development. The settlements considered in the adopted LDP have been reassessed for the purposes of establishing a settlement hierarchy for the 2RLDP. Settlements were assessed on a number of criteria including their size, the services they provide, their accessibility and their transport links.

6.2 A tiered approach has been used to group settlements with similar characteristics in terms of facilities and services. Further information is provided in the Evidence Base Document "Functional Analysis of Settlements" The settlement hierarchy is defined in Table 2:

Table 2: Settlement Hierarchy for the County Borough




Principal Towns

Centres that exhibit the highest level of services and facilities and have the greatest level of sustainable transport

Bargoed, Blackwood, Ystrad Mynach, Risca/Pontymister, Caerphilly



Centres with a moderate level of services and facilities and are accessible by sustainable transport.

Rhymney, Nelson, Newbridge, Bedwas

Residential Centres

Settlements that have limited services and facilities and serve as dormitory areas for the larger centres

Aberbargoed, Abercarn, Abertridwr, Abertysswg, Argoed, Britannia, Brynawel, Cefn Fforest, Cefn Hengoed, Croespenmaen, Crosskeys, Crumlin, Cwmcarn, Cwmfelinfach, Deri, Fleur-de-lis, Fochriw, Gelligaer, Gilfach, Glan-y-nant, Graig-y-rhacca, Hafodyrynys, Hengoed, Hollybush, Llanbradach, Llechryd, Machen, Maesycwmmer, Markham, New Tredegar, Oakdale, Pantside, Penallta, Penmaen, Pengam, Penpedairheol, Pentwynmawr, Penybryn, Pontllanfraith, Pontlottyn, Pontywaun, Princetown, Rudry, Senghenydd, , Trethomas, Trinant, Wattsville, Woodfieldside, Wyllie, Ynysddu

6.3 Welsh Government approach in respect of growth is focussed toward its cities and large towns, enabling the co-location of housing, jobs and services and enabling green infrastructure enhancement. A number of the Future Wales policies reinforce this position, in particular:

  • Policy 6: Town Centre First
    This policy seeks to locate significant new public sector developments within existing town centres.
  • Policy 33 – National Growth Area – Cardiff Newport and the Valleys
    This policy seeks to promote national levels of growth in the towns and cities within the CCR.
  • Policy 36 – South East Metro
    This policy seeks to maximise development around major transport nodes, which are generally located within the larger towns.

6.4 The settlement hierarchy is an important factor in the consideration of where new development will be identified to accommodate the projected levels of growth in the County Borough. The hierarchy identifies the most sustainable locations in terms of co-located services and facilities and accessibility via sustainable transport. Consequently, the hierarchy will need to be considered to inform the appropriate locations for new development as part of the strategy.

For instructions on how to use the system and make comments, please see our help guide.
back to top back to top